Where the £7.6m for children went

The children’s neurodevelopmental fund for 2026–27, council by council, released to us under Freedom of Information.

In September 2026 the Scottish Government announced £7.6 million for local neurodevelopmental support for children, young people and their families. It shared the money between all 32 councils. The news release and the guidance to councils do not include how much each council received, so we asked under Freedom of Information, and this is the answer.

  • £7.6mshared between 32 councils for 2026–27
  • £5.86per person aged 5 to 25 (the age range used in the formula), Scotland as a whole
  • £50,000minimum per council, received by the three island councils

How it was split. The Government says allocations “were calculated based on 86% of the £7.6 million allocated on the basis of population aged 5 to 25, 7% on rurality and 7% on deprivation, with a minimum allocation of £50,000 per local authority.” Its guidance to councils says the money can pay for “needs-based support for children, young people and their families with neurodevelopmental support needs, including those with a diagnosis, awaiting assessment, or not seeking or requiring a diagnosis”, for “children and young people who are aged 0–18 years, and young adults aged 18–24 (and up to age 26 for care experienced people)”. So the 5 to 25 age range is the population the Government says it used to divide the money, and the guidance sets the ages the support can be for. Read the Government’s response (PDF)

Explore by council

Show

Shetland (moved)
Central belt, enlarged

What the figures mean

£ per person aged 5 to 25

Our calculation: each council’s allocation divided by its population aged 5 to 25, the population the Government says the formula used. The fund itself can support children and young people aged 0 to 18, and young adults up to 24 (26 if care experienced), so this is not an amount per eligible child. The Government says 86% of the fund was shared by population aged 5 to 25, 7% by rurality and 7% by deprivation, with a £50,000 minimum per council. It is not a measure of need, and it is not how the money has to be spent.

Population aged 5 to 25

National Records of Scotland mid-2025 estimates. The published allocation does not state which year’s estimates the formula used, so these may differ slightly from the figures it worked from.

Deprivation and rurality

Two parts of the formula, each 7%. The published allocation does not state which measures were used. We show standard official figures for context, which may differ from the measures in the formula. The figures we show are: the share of each council’s population living in data zones in Scotland’s 20% most deprived (Scottish Index of Multiple Deprivation 2020), and the share living in rural areas (Scottish Government Urban Rural Classification 2020). Shares are our calculation, using mid-2024 data zone population estimates.

The guidance says specific reporting requirements would be “agreed between COSLA and Scottish Government and issued separately to local authorities”. The Government’s FOI reply includes the “reporting template that was issued to all local authorities”, which sets out “how local authorities will report back to Scottish Government”. The guidance, the reporting template and the FOI reply do not say whether councils’ reports will be published.

Sources

  1. Scottish Government, Freedom of Information response 202600539232: council allocations and the formula, 15 October 2026 (PDF). Also released to us: the guidance to councils and reporting template (PDFs). The guidance is also published on gov.scot (15 October 2026); it does not include the council allocations.
  2. Scottish Government news release, “Boosting neurodevelopmental support for children”, 9 September 2026.
  3. Public Health Scotland open data, Population Estimates (National Records of Scotland), Council Area (2019), mid-2025, ages 5 to 25 summed by us.
  4. Public Health Scotland open data, Scottish Index of Multiple Deprivation 2020v2 and Urban Rural Classification 2020, by 2011 data zone, weighted by NRS mid-2024 data zone population estimates; shares calculated by us.
  5. Office for National Statistics, Open Geography Portal, Local Authority Districts (December 2024) boundaries, simplified by us. Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2024. Open Government Licence v3.0.

Cite this page: ADHD Scot (2026). Where the £7.6m for children went: the children’s neurodevelopmental fund 2026–27, by council. https://adhdscot.co.uk/nd-fund-by-council. Data free to reuse with attribution under CC BY 4.0.

Back to the commitments tracker